The Bombay Homoeopathic & Biochemic Practitioner Act 1959 was enacted and it come into force on 27-10-1961 in Maharashtra State. The Main purpose of the Act is to regulate registration of Practitioners and to encourage the study and the spread of Homoeopathic & Biochemic systems of Medicine.

        The Act provided for a statutory body viz. Board of Homoeopathic and Biochemic systems of Medicine to look after the registration of Homoeopathic Practitioners and the Court of Examiners of Homoeopathic & Biochemic system pf Medicine to encourage the study and spread of Hom. systems. The Govt. had appointed a committee to enquire into the working of the Act. It was presided over by Dr. N. B. Gadekar. The proposal of the committee to amalgamate the Board and Court of Examiners into a single body and it was approved by Council of ministers in its meeting held on 2.5.84 and in accordance with that decision the Law & Judiciary department has drafted a Bill on the date of commencement of the Bombay Homoeopathic and Biochemic Practitioners(Amendment) Act, 1985, The Maharashtra Council of Homoeopathy have been established.

The Council shall consist of eleven members including the president and the Vice-President as follows :-

  1. Deputy Director of Homoeopathy is ex-officio.
  2. Four members nominated by the State Govt. from amongst persons having special knowledge or practical experience in respect of Homoeopathy.
  3. Three members elected by registered Practitioners whose names are entered in the register maintained under section 20 from amongst themselves.
  4. One member elected by the Principals or Heads of recognized Institutions, from amongst themselves.
  5. Two members elected by the teachers (other than Principals or Heads) of recognized institutions from amongst themselves.

        The President and the Vice-President of the Council shall be elected by the members of the Council by ballot from amongst themselves and term of office or president and vice-president shall be for a period of one year.

        The term of office of the members whether elected or nominated shall be for a period of five years commencing from the date of first meeting of the Council.

        As per Act new Council is established from 14th Feb. 07. For the period of 14-2-2007 to 13-2-2008 President was Dr. Mrs. Mahindre Priya Prakash & Vice-President was Dr. Ajit Kailasrao Funde & For the period of 14-2-2007 to 13-2-2008 President is Dr. Mrs. Rajani Subhash Indulkar & Vice-President is Dr. Ajit Kailasrao Funde .

        Ex-officio Deputy Director of Homoeopathy :

           Dr. Titar Govind Pratap.

        Four members nominated by State Govt. are as under :

  1. Dr. Shah Bahubali Hiralal
  2. Dr. (Smt) Indulkar Rajani Subhash
  3. Dr. Bachhav Dinesh Motiram
  4. Dr. Kachkure Nivrutti Sheshrao

        Three members elected by registered Practitioners are as follows :

  1. Dr. Mahindre Priya Prakash
  2. Dr. Patil Dilipkumar Kondiba
  3. Dr. Patil Manish Rajkumar

        One member elected from Principals or Head of Institutions is as under :

                    Dr. Patil Rajkumar Satgonda

        Two members elected from teachers are as under :

  1. Dr. Funde Ajit Kailasrao
  2. Dr. Zadpe Satish Gangadhar